YOU ARE NOT A FAIR WEATHER FRIEND – Poetry

July 22, 2017

When all hope is lost
There You are
Shining on me like a beautiful star

Though I scream
With angers rage
Not understanding the current page

It doesn’t deter You
You can handle my pain
You never leave me, You remain the same

When my broken heart
Is bleeding mad
You stay with me, Lord, just like You said

You are not fickle
Don’t run away
Like so many others, yet You choose to stay

How can you love me
When there’s ugliness there
You look right past it, see my heart laid bare

You’d rather have an honest spit
Than a fakeness that comes
From lying lips

It’s with You Jesus
That I can get real
And not be afraid that You’ll leave me still

You’re promise is
That You will stay
And see me through another day

Your love so deep
We’ve never seen
Even when we’ve been so mean

You are not a fair weather friend
Your love so deep
That it never ends

Beyond the veil
We must go
And not be afraid our truth to show

Be it bad or be it good
You will still love us
That must be understood

Our problems seem great
But to You it’s not so
Because Your commitment is more than we know

In the morning You will be there
The price You have paid
Our sins to erase

copyright 2017 Jean Chamblee

Hebrews 13:5  “For Jesus has said, ‘I will NEVER leave you or forsake you.”

Leave a Reply

