CANVAS – Poetry

July 11, 2017

Oh the canvas of my life
Painted pictures tell
What will eternity say
Did I live my life very well?

Did I live my life for eternity’s sake
Or just follow my own selfish whims
Going after earthly things
The light in me pretty dim

Knowing all things will be burned up
When the end of the age does arrive
Only things done in the will of God
Will have the right to survive

What have I done for selfishness sake?
What have I done for love?
One will turn into ashes
While the other gets rewards from above

Lot’s of time has been wasted
Can I now grow up and live right
Doing things for eternity’s sake
For the Lord, can I shine His true light

In Christ there is always redemption
My wasted days can turn gold
When given into the hand of God
He can give wisdom to replace what is old

Then wisdom is the gift we give
Once our eyes have true light
Living in the dark no more
We can stand up and do what is right

Fearing not the shortness of days
Making each moment count
Listening to His instructions
Understanding what life is about

When it is over we all will bow down
To the Lover of our souls
The jewels in our crown will be for Him
All along, He was the goal

copyright 2017 Jean Chamblee

Leave a Reply

