A THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

May 23, 2017

So today I read a scripture that just hit me like a rock and went to the core of my being. It is written that His word is a “lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path”. It shines into our lives and souls and shows us what we need to see. I am grateful, even when it hurts at first. Kind of like a splinter. You know it must come out before the infection can heal.

The scripture I read is this:

Matthew 6:25-27 “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?”

And it echoes at the end…… 30….O you of little faith?

Those incredible words……DO NOT WORRY ABOUT YOUR LIFE! As God’s word shined on that, I realized how far off the mark I have been. Have I been worrying about my life? YES, YES, YES! I am guilty, but I don’t want to be and I don’t have to be.

Can we really take God at His word? I did not realize how much I had been weighed down by worry. Yes, it is easy to walk around and think that you trust in God and for most of us we have areas that we are good at. I trust Him for many things, but as I read these words the lights came on and I could see how much fear had gripped my heart in certain areas. And I want out of it! I could see how I have let so much slip. I used to live by faith so much more, but somewhere along the line I began to trust in man, in natural things, it was easier to look for natural easily available solutions than to look to God to meet my needs and to look to God first in prayer before turning to something or someone else. To actually believe that He would take care of the problem for me.

I’ve always liked the fact that the Bible tells us that if we would “judge ourselves” we would not be judged. So even though it smarts for me to admit that I have slipped pretty far in this area of trusting God and actually doing away with worry. I want to read that again….

Matthew 6:25 “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life….”

I want to walk in that. God has never said something that we could not do with His help and grace. I feel like I need to go through my life like weeding a garden and hunt down the “worry” weeds and pull them out. I am asking God to help me do this and I hope in some ways this will be a blessing to you.

It is written James 5:16 “ Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”

There is so much in the word that we actually don’t “do” anymore, but I hope this is a spark. As I have been honest about my shortcomings I hope that you will pray for me, yourself and others. We are a body meant to be a part of each other for good. To reflect Christ. To be “doers of the word and not hearers only”.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. God bless you and I pray you have a great day.

Leave a comment