The Beauty In The Struggle

December 16, 2016

Why, oh why Lord
Do we struggle so?
I asked Him one day
When I was feeling quite low

His answer surprised me
As He said with a smile
Come and I’ll tell you child,
Sit with me awhile

Look at the caterpillar crawling about
It goes into hiding before it comes out
It makes a cocoon as I’ve taught it to do
And waits until spring when formation is through

Now when it is ready
It struggles about
To get free from it’s prison
To finally come out

It’s there in the struggle
It’s wings find their strength
It would not be ready
This process it brings

Brings about forming
All of it’s parts
Like muscles get stronger
With the beating of the heart

If the process was shortened
On the ground it would lie
Free from it’s prison
Yet there it would die

The wings must be ready
To catch on the breeze
Strengthened by struggle
And now that it’s free

Flying in beauty
Above all the earth
Fulfilling it’s purpose
It’s reason for birth

So it is with my children
They’re growing inside
Their struggle for freedom
Prepares them to fly

So don’t be discouraged
You will overcome
Despise not the small things
My will’s being done

Trust me in all things
My leading is right
I know what you need child
So you can take flight

copyright 2012 Jean Chamblee

Leave a Reply

