Speak Softly To My Broken Soul – Poetry

December 2, 2016

Speak so softly to my broken soul
No one else can make me whole
Gently, gently Spirit speak
Hold me closely kind and meek

Pain so deep no words express
Just a tear falls on my breast
Dripping from my eyes of blue
No idea Lord what to do

Such a time I have not seen
Maybe so, life’s been quite mean
Icy cold most people are
Except the few sweet shining stars

On this I set my heart of hope
That somewhere there’s a lighter note
Can I sing again, oh my soul
Can I speak of being whole

In Your arms is where I lie
I know you keep the tears I cry
Feeling deeply loving long
I wish again to sing Your song

Trusting You, Who never fails
Waiting for Your Spirit’s sails
Into the sunset I will gaze
Lifting up a quiet praise

Heaven is my dream of dreams
No matter those my hope demean
I know You’re real with all my heart
Lift me up my soul impart

Give me joy and wholeness too
I know You will I trust in You
Heal me Lord so deep within
Remove from me all lingering sin

Set me on a path that’s right
Help me Lord escape the night
Of all around the daggers fly
Lift me to your Presence high

copyright 2016   Jean Chamblee Thomas

Leave a Reply

