A THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

September 22, 2016

James 1:2 “My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials. knowing the the testing of your faith produces patience.

We’ve most likely read this dozens of times and marveled at how James could ask us to count trials a “joyful” thing. I have always read that and said to myself “that’s deep, and I’m not even close to that level of maturity” and ha ha….I still say that! But I found something interesting this morning as I read this. I stopped and looked up the word “patience” in the Greek (which the new testament was translated from) It is the word “hupomone” which means “an abiding under”! Wow!! that totally changed it for me!!

Follow this thought…. our trials drive us to “abide under” . To run to God and seek Him out in a closer and deeper way. In light of that….trials produce really good fruit. As we continue to follow James line of thought….. 1:4 “But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing!”

I don’t know about you…..but I would love to be made complete and lack nothing in the sight of God. Am I asking for trials?? NOOO!!! But…I know they will come to me and to all of us. We are meant to grow to maturity as human beings and as spiritual beings….the children of God.

James, as our older brother in Christ and a man approved of God has given us some pretty awesome wisdom. Actually if you follow his next thought he encourages us to ask for wisdom from God in faith….. an interesting thought to follow what he just said. I think when we get into trials….we NEED God’s wisdom to understand and navigate them in a way that pleases God.

At any rate…..trials will come…..to take James advice and at least try to “count it all joy” looking past the immediate trial and seeing a beautiful fruit that will be gained if we do it God’s way will help us in this life. Patience and endurance….beautiful fruit in God’s eyes. May God help us to “abide under” Him at all times, but especially as we traverse difficult times. Amen!

One Response to “A THOUGHT FOR THE DAY”

  1. jeanchamblee said

    Reblogged this on End Time Prophesy.

Leave a Reply

