A Sweet Soft Place To Land

October 7, 2014

So many critics
Are waiting in the wings
When all you really want to do
Is share your heart and sing

Some see themselves
As always being right
They idol their opinions
Always looking for a fight

I know that I’m just looking
For a sweet soft place to land
To find a heart like this
Is like a needle in the sand

Some are only comfortable
Upon their pedestal
So they can look down on you
Treat you like a fool

Others they must be
The flower in the room
If anyone smells sweeter
They’ll taint that ones perfume

I know that I’m just looking
For a sweet soft place to land
To find a heart like this
Is like a needle in the sand

Others always must be
The star that’s shining bright
And if their luster dims
They seek to put out all the lights

Just give me a place
Where simple hearts do dwell
With humble views about themselves
Whose heart you can unveil

I know the Bible tells us
With the lowly seek to stay
I never knew what Jesus meant
Until this very day

Oh what a treasure
A gentle heart to find
Where you can open up your soul
And know you’ll be just fine

I know that I’m just looking
For a sweet soft place to land
To find a heart like this
Is like a needle in the sand

copyright Jean Chamblee 2010

Leave a Reply

