A THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

April 2, 2014

Psalm 139: 23,24 “Search me, O God, and know my heart;
Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me,
And lead me in the way everlasting.”

This scripture always scared me as a new believer. It took a while before I came to know God as a loving Father. I didn’t want to ask of God to search me! I thought to myself “How courageous this King David guy is! or crazy!!” How silly were my thoughts! As if God doesn’t know everything about us from each thought to the very hairs on our head. (Matthew 10:30)

After years of learning God’s ways and realizing that He ALWAYS has my best interest at heart, I slowly began to yield to His dealings. He is the potter and I am the clay. (Isaiah 64:8)

Now that I am older and see the world as the dangerous place that it is…I long to be chastened and searched. It still hurts sometimes, but it keeps me in a place of safety no matter what happens.

Psalm 91:1 “He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High
Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.”

The very cool thing about it all that I have found, is the reward God gives when we do this! Joy! I don’t think there is anything more wonderful than to know that you have made God smile! The lifting of a weight that we did not even see is pretty awesome too!

So when you read “Search me, O God…” Realize maybe David wasn’t so crazy after all and I dare you to give it a try!! Here’s to growing in God!! 🙂  Much love

Leave a Reply

